2013 Renaissance Award Winners

The Roanoke Arts Council is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s competitions which were awarded Saturday, October 12th during “A Renaissance in Roanoke”. For the first year the Council is awarding two $750 scholarships to college students who have exhibited artistic excellence in visual arts. This year’s winners are Emily Thornburg of Saint Francis University and Tia Hapner of IPFW.

The College Exhibit was judged by Sarah Aubrey of the Fort Wayne Museum of Art. She chose:
1st Place – Emily Thornburg, University of Saint Francis
2nd Place – Abigail Lynn, Manchester University
3rd Place – Hollis Jantz, Manchester University
The winner of the People's Choice Award is Paige Huff, University of Saint Francis.

Best in class ribbons were also awarded to artists in the Art Marketplace by Dan Swartz. Winners were: Joseph Pelka, Ceramics; Susan Stewart, Glass; Carol Blumenberg, Jewelry; College Art, Mixed media; Tammy Jo Hyndman, painting; Bonnie Manning, photography; Larry Wiedman, woodworking; Michael Hapner, recycled art and Donna Waters, leatherworking and Amber Walker, watercolors.

The Plein Aire paint-out winners were: Terry Pulley - 1st, Marianne Von Rohr - 2nd, Heather Houser - 3rd,
Diana Fair – Fort Wayne Museum of Art Purchase Award. Charles Shepard, Director of the Fort Wayne Museum of Art was the judge.

“A Renaissance in Roanoke” is partially funded by a Neighborhood Grant from Arts United of Greater Fort Wayne, the Indiana Arts Commission the National Endowment for the Arts and Vera Bradley.

Posted in: General

Stay Connected

Like our Facebook page to get the most up-to-date information on the event.

Join Our Email List